Presidential Teaching Awards

The Presidential Teaching Awards were established in 1996 as a way to honor the University’s best teachers. They are conferred based on the original criteria for the awards for faculty and graduate student instructors. To receive this award is a great honor, as it demonstrates commitment to excellent and often innovative teaching as recognized by the entire Columbia community. Click on the menu links at left to learn more about the selection process and eligibility criteria for the faculty and graduate student instructor awards.

The 2017 Presidential Teaching Awards are open, and nominations will be accepted until the deadline of 5:00pm on February 1, 2017.  Individuals may submit nominations for faculty or graduate student instructors by clicking on the links below.

Faculty Nomination Form – use this form to submit a nomination for a faculty member.

Graduate Student Instructor (Teaching Assistant) Nomination Form – use this form to submit a nomination for a graduate student instructor (teaching assistant).


Click here to view the Selection Committee members for both the Faculty and Graduate Student Instructor awards.


If you have questions about the Presidential Teaching Awards, please contact the Office of the Vice Provost for Academic Programs (OVPAP) at


2016 Faculty Recipients of the Presidential Teaching Award. Pictured from left to right: Prof. Olatunde Johnson (Law), Prof. Adam Cannon (Computer Science), President Lee C. Bollinger, Prof. Rita Charon (Medicine), and Prof. Martina Pavlicova (Biostatistics). Not pictured: Prof. Luis Campos (Chemistry). Photo: Eileen Barroso/Columbia University.