Presidential Teaching Awards for Faculty

Five faculty recipients are recognized each year during University Commencement in May. Faculty winners receive a certificate signed by President Bollinger, a formal citation written by their department, and an honorarium of $20,000. Additionally, the winners may also be recognized in University-wide and departmental publications.

Click here to view 2017 faculty winners.

Click here to view prior faculty winners.

Selection Process

The selection process begins with an open nominations period when anyone in the Columbia community (anyone with an active Columbia UNI) can nominate an eligible faculty member.

Nominations for faculty can be submitted here: Nominations will be accepted until the deadline of 5pm on February 1, 2018.

The Selection Committee reviews all nominations, requests dossiers for a pool of finalists they wish to consider for the award, and ultimately chooses 5 winners to recommend to President Bollinger.

The Selection Committee is comprised of 6-10 faculty members who are all prior winners of the Presidential Teaching Award. There is representation from both the Medical Center and Morningside campuses, as well as across disciplines. Information about the current Selection Committee can be found here.

Eligibility requirements

  • While Columbia is fortunate to have a relationship with both Barnard and Teacher’s College that permits students to experience a wide range of teaching excellence, faculty at Barnard and Teacher’s College are not eligible for the Presidential Teaching Awards.
  • Faculty members with an official academic appointment are eligible to be nominated. This includes full-time, part-time and adjunct faculty in any department. Tenure status does not factor in to eligibility for the awards.
  • Visiting faculty are not eligible for this award.
  • Student officers of instruction may not be nominated for a faculty teaching award. If eligible, they may be nominated for a graduate student instructor teaching award. Please click here for information on these awards.
  • This award is bestowed as a once in a lifetime achievement. Past winners are not eligible to receive a second award.




Commencement, May 2016. Photo: Eileen Barrosa/Columbia University.